Winter swimming on New Year’s Day, Nyårsdoppet Ystad

On New Year’s Day, me, my sister and 85 other lunatics had a nice refreshing swim in the sea. This was my first time at the annual Nyårsdoppet (literally: New Year’s dip) in Ystad, Skåne. But not the last. The water temperature was around 5-6 degrees, apparently warmer than usual. For my last “dip” I was on my own, as no one seemed keen to go in a second time.

Thanks Brian for the pictures!

736946_10151150358591146_155131877_o

IMG_2020

IMG_2023

IMG_2024

IMG_2028

IMG_2040

IMG_2051

IMG_2053

IMG_2057

11 thoughts on “Winter swimming on New Year’s Day, Nyårsdoppet Ystad

  1. This unbelievable 🙂 I can’t imagine. Should be so cold. I wonder no one get cold 🙂 Are you going to celebrate this New Year too? Thank you, I was looking for Sweden towns, and I found your blog. Beautiful country. With my love, nia

  2. Whoa, I barely recognized you with the mustache!

    I can’t even imagine going into such cold water. How did it feel? Was it really refreshing or just painful?

Leave a Reply

